Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Allergy Friendly Passover Recipes

Passover recipes already have many restrictions, such as no barley, oats, rye, spelt, wheat, rice, corn, peanuts or beans, and some traditions, though certainly not all, omit dairy products as well.
These recipes and packaged goodies could be useful to those of us troubled by these foods year 'round!

Tip: One main thing people have on Passover is matzah - this is made of wheat. Also made of wheat is matzah meal (ground matzah), matzah farfel (matzah in small pieces) and cake meal (finely ground matzah). If you are gluten free, you MUST avoid all foods with those ingredients. You want to keep your eyes open for this Hebrew phrase- "non-gebroktz". This means that no wheat was used and means that any item with that on it is safe for us. Many delicious, special products labelled as non-gebroktz become available only at this time of year.

Here’s the latest list from Manischewitz.com for their gluten free items:
Daily Only (Not Kosher for Passover)
Hearty Bean Cello Soup
MixLentil Pilaf Mix
Split Pea Soup Mix With Seasoning
Cello Soup Mix

Kosher For Passover and All Year Round
Grape Juice
Original Marinara Sauce
Tomato and Mushroom Sauce
Apple ButterBorscht (All)
Clear Chicken Consomme
Chicken Soup
Condensed Clear Chicken Soup
Cooking Sprays - All Varieties
Homestyle Potato Latke Mix
Mini Potato Knish Mix
Potato Kugel Mix
Potato Pancake Mix
Sweetened Potato Pancake Mix

Kosher for Passover
Cappaccino Chip Macaroons
Caramel Cashew Patties
Chocolate Chip Macaroons
Chocolate Chunk Cherry Macaroons
Chocolate Frolic Bears
Maxs Magic Lollycones
Chocolate Macaroons
Chocolate Morsels
Coconut Macaroons
Banana Split Macaroons
Toffee Crunch Macaroons
Fruit Slices
Mini Sour Fruit Slices
Fudgey Nut Brownie Macaroons
Hazelnut Truffles
Honey Nut Macaroons
Horseradish (All)
Mallo Cups
Passover Noodles
Peppermint Patties
Potato Chips - All Varieties
Potato Starch
Raspberry Jell Bars
Rocky Road Macaroons
Swiss Chocolate Mints
Tender Coconut Patties
Ultimate Triple Chocolate Macaroons
Vegetable Oil
Viennese Crunch

Gluten Free Passover Recipe Roundup from the Gluten Free Bay Blog. This is a great article from 2007 that provides multiple recipes. They are all gluten free and are coded to indicate other dietary restrictions:
P = Parve (no dairy, no meat)
M = Meat (fleischig)
D = Dairy (milchig)
V = Vegan (no animal products, no honey)
VG = Vegetarian dishes containing dairy, eggs and/or honey

Recipe Zaar has 71 gluten free recipes for Passover. Many are also free of other troublesome ingredients.

Here are dairy free Passover recipes from about.com.

Passover By Design - Susie Fishbein's newest book has sold out nearly overnight at many stores and features over 130 gluten-free recipes for Passover and year-round.

Hope that's helpful!

No comments:

Post a Comment